RTDNA Canada Announces the 2023 Emerging Journalist Award Winner

Toronto, ON (October 20, 2023) RTDNA Canada is pleased to honour Kier Junos with the inaugural Emerging Journalist Award for an emerging journalist who displays excellence in the coverage of original (enterprise) journalism on a single topic, investigative reporting, or continuing coverage of a beat or a major breaking and developing story.

RTDNA Canada created the Emerging Journalist Award to recognize the achievements and excellent work of Canadian journalists who are in the early stages of their career.

RTDNA President, Lis Travers said “There was fierce competition for this new award that recognizes the people who are not just honing their craft – they are delivering results. Congratulations Kier.”

About RTDNA Canada

RTDNA Canada is a progressive organization offering a forum for open discussion, best practices, educational information, and industry news. The Association speaks for the leaders and members of Canada’s radio, television and digital news operations on issues that impact news coverage and journalists. RTDNA Canada fosters training, career development, national and regional awards recognition, and active dialogue with the membership.

The RTDNA Code of Journalistic Ethics, adopted by the Canadian Broadcast Standards Council, is used to measure fairness and accuracy in our profession.

Click HERE to become a member.

Contact Information

RTDNA Canada | President
Lis Travers

RTDNA Canada | Awards Committee
Mary Nersessian – Chair
Espe Currie
Michael Goldberg
Sarah Mills
Janice Neil
Colleen Schmidt