Awards Entry Guidelines

The RTDNA Canada 2022 Awards are presented for the best in Audio, Video and Digital journalism first published in 2021.
Submissions for the 2022 Awards are now closed.

Award categories for RTDNA Canada 2022 Regional and National Awards for Excellence are below. These include the new awards RTDNA Canada introduced in 2021:

  • Audio-Visual Storytelling, new in 2021
  • Breaking News
  • Continuing Coverage + Multiplatform
  • Enterprise Journalism + Multiplatform
  • Excellence in Data Storytelling
  • Excellence in Editing, new in 2021
  • Excellence in Innovation, Sponsored by Dejero + Multiplatform
  • Excellence in Sports Reporting
  • Excellence in Social
  • Excellence in Sound
  • Excellence in Video
  • Feature News
  • Graphics, new in 2021
  • Investigative Excellence + Multiplatform
  • News app
  • News Information Program
  • News – Live Special Events
  • Opinion
  • Overall Excellence in Digital
  • Podcast
  • Radio Newscast
  • Sports app
  • Sports – Live Special Events
  • TV Newscast

Click on the button below to proceed to the Awards Submission Site:

Click on the button below to download / print the PDF version of the Entry Guidelines: 

Important Dates:

December 1, 2021 – Submission period opens.
February 25, 2022 – Final Deadline for submissions.
May 4, 2022 – Regional Award finalists announced.
May 26, 2022 – Regional Award winners announced: East, Central, Prairies, West.
June 8, 2022 – National and Best Canadian Local News Award finalists announced.
June 2022 – National and Best Canadian Local News Award winners announced at RTDNA Canada Awards Gala.

NOTE: Winners of Regional Awards are automatically entered to compete for a Best Canadian Local News Award. No additional entry applications or fees are required. Best Canadian Local News Award winners will be announced along with the National winners in Spring 2022.