2021 Distinguished Service Award


RTDNA Canada recognizes Scott Metcalfe with the 2021 Distinguished Service Award

Scott Metcalfe has been a true friend and supporter to RTDNA Canada. He has served over the years and now, as he takes on a new adventure in retirement, it is important for us at RTDNA Canada to give Scott a send off with much admiration and respect. Scott will be missed by his colleagues and I hope this tribute confirms how much Scott is respected and loved.”
– Fiona Conway, President, RTDNA Canada

About Scott

Scott Metcalfe started his broadcasting career at CHAB Radio in Moose Jaw, Sask. The next stop was CHED in Edmonton where he covered the City Hall beat.

There was a brief stopover in London, Ont. before he moved to Toronto. At CJCL in Toronto, Scott started as the Queen’s Park reporter, then became a news anchor and eventually was appointed news director.

In 1992, CJCL became THE FAN 590, an all-sports radio station, and Scott was appointed sports director and executive producer. The FAN eventually joined the Rogers Broadcasting family of radio stations, and Scott was appointed news director of 680News.

A message from Scott

Scott Metcalfe Tribute

The RTDNA Canada Distinguished Service Award honours a member who has played a major role in the continuing success of RTDNA Canada. The award is presented in recognition and appreciation of outstanding contribution and exemplary distinguished service rendered for the benefit and advancement of electronic journalism and RTDNA.

George Browne2019
Kym Geddes2018
Mark Mietkiewicz2017
Andy LeBlanc, Jack Nagler, Mark Sikstrom, and Ron Waksman (RTDNA Canada’s Code of Journalistic Ethics Review Committee)2016
Lis Travers2015
Dave Trafford2014
Andy LeBlanc2013
Peter Angione2012
Michael Fulmes2011
Robert McLaughlin2010
Bernadette Lee2009
Eldon Duchscher2008
Renato Zane2007
Gerry Phelan2006
Lis Travers2005
Melanie Kurzuk2004
Tom Mark2003
Mike Omelus2002
Al Gibson2001
Terry Scott2000
Hudson Mack1999
Del Archer1998
Dale O’Hara1997
Gord Sinclair1996
George Clark1995
Hugh Doherty1994
JJ Richards1993
Bob Beaton1992
Barry Hamelin1991
Bill Hutton1990